If you have been following this blog for awhile, you may see some projects here that ring some bells. Let me warn you, if you are looking for a happy-go-lucky post that is full of wonderful things, you will not find it here. This is the post of projects that have gone wrong, and in my opinion, it’s all due to the Cursed Yarn.

Close to two years ago now, I purchased 2 balls of Schoeller and Stahl Wonderwool Tweed in a lovely dusty rose color, with the Sunflower Tam by Norah Gaughan. I loved the pattern the first time I saw it in the book, and when my mother came to own it, I immediately went out and sought out yarn for it. I cast it on that very night, and finished it within 24 hours. But then, I tried it on. And yeah, you’ll see from the pictures below why it turned out to be one of my least favorite projects as far as “results” were concerned.

Not my most flattering look…. It was beautiful from the back though!

It was the ridge of purl stitches that did it, I think. It caused the beret to not drape. It might have also been the acrylic in the yarn, but I really didn’t want to rip out that hat, as I knew that someone I knew would look good in it. Sure enough, there was a coworker’s wife who it looked cute on, and the hat went to her.

So, a few months ago, I decided to knit my step-daughter’s aunt a hat out of the remainder of the yarn, so I cast on for the Unoriginal Hat by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, and it knit up very quickly, and it was sent off to her the next day when Morgan went to her house for daycare.

Except, there was a slight problem with my comprehension of the words “chunky weight yarn” and I knit it instead in a worsted, or heavy worsted at best. It became a yamaka (sp?) on her, and was so small in fact, that it didn’t fit Morgan well either. It would stretch out nicely on Morgan’s head, but then slowly creep up towards the crown, pointing up and back as it slipped. Not my finest hour as a knitter when I realized this….

So you can imagine my frustration on Sunday afternoon, when I decided to knit Morgan a pair of mittens out of the leftover yarn and get it out of my stash forever, and I got the entire hand of the second mitten done, minus the decreases at the top and the picked up thumb when I ran out of yarn. Seriously? I was that close to having it out of my stash forever, and in some sort of decent completed project, and it chose to run out then?

I let it sit for three days while I fumed, and then today, I took the time to properly frog the Unoriginal Hat so I could finish the mittens. And before you ask, yes, I threw the remainders of the yarn out. By that time, I had realized that it was cursed, and I was going to take the small victory that I got. It was worth it for the cute picture too.

So for those of you at home keeping track, this is the score at the end of the day:

Wonderwool Tweed: 3

Jessica: 0

Morgan: 1

