Some of you, more frequent and/or dedicated readers than others, may remember that I challenged myself to knit as much as possible on the Snowdrop Shawl by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee as I could during the 2010 Ravelympics. Well, I managed to get the entire body done, including the I-cord bind off, before realizing that the shawl was too small, and not even agressive blocking was going to get it to the size that I wanted it to be.

Now, while I am not a fan of doing the same pattern twice (except when it comes to socks, I don’t usually seem to mind when it comes to socks, or fingerless gloves, or other simple things like Easy Recipe Hats, etc) I am definitely a fan of doing it right. I am a perfectionist, maybe not as much as my mother, there are certain “character flaws” that I can live with, but a shawl that’s too small is definitely not something that I can live with, so I frogged it.

Well, it’s been dug out from the bottom of the stash basket, sealed in a nice pretty blue Ziploc freezer bag, and ressurrected. I am using the correct needle size this time (4mm instead of a 3mm) and I’m keeping better track of my rows with the use of my KnitPicks chart keeper (seriously, if you don’t have one of these, you need to get one) and myKnitPicks row counter. I intend to lick this shawl good this time too, because well, it’s simply beautiful, and I’ve always wanted to make it.

Since I managed to get the entire body of the shawl finished last attempt, with plenty of days to spare before the Olympics ended, I decided to challenge myself with this shawl a little bit. How much can I get done before Halloween? All of it? It’s an extra week on top of what I had back in February, so I’m going to see if I can’t get this beautiful project done before the end of the month. And yes, you are welcome to take bets on whether or not I will complete it, or drive myself insane in the process. Let’s just call it a social experiment, shall we?

So, without futher adieu, let the knitting begin! *insert an image of a racing flag being dropped here*

