It’s the beginning of October, not January, yes, I am totally aware of this. I’m also totally aware of the weird looks that some of you are giving me right now, but hear me out, okay? For years, the start of autumn has always felt like the beginning of the year for me. It’s probably because school started in September, and I would get all those new clothes, a new hair cut, and a fresh stack of school supplies, and off I’d go, into my new school, class, or grade, ready to tackle another year of education. January felt like getting back into the swing of things for me, after the whirlwind of Christmas and New Year’s parties, and the short break from school, I was ready to leave the holidays behind, and settle into a routine. So, as much as my romantic teenage self would try to get down with writing New Year’s Resolutions, and trying to treat January 1st as the start of something new, the truth is that I really end up thinking most about the last year when I see leaves changing color and falling to the ground.

When I look directly out my window, I am still staring at a sea of green leaves, but at the side of my house is this city-kept trail that leads down to the little bit of woodlands behind my backyard, and these trees are in full autumn-mode. Little dried leaves of various colors are beginning to litter my lawn, and I’ve taken down my summer hummingbird feeder, and replaced it with a suet feeder.

I feel awfully good about this suet feeder too, because not only does it have a tailboard to support the Common Flickers that I hope to see on it someday, but it’s also made from 100% recycled products. The tailboard and roof are recycled plastics, and the metal suet cage is made from recycled scrap metal. So far the only visitors to it have been the chickadees, which also continue to frequent my seed feeder, but I expect that after the mountain ash tree in one of my neighbor’s yards has been stripped of all the berries, that the flickers may end up finding this new feeder, and frequenting it.

But besides the change in temperature, color, and bird-sightings, there has also been a bit of a change in my knitting attitude. Yes, I am still knitting like crazy to keep myself busy (especially since I’m still on light duty from the shoulder injury, which is doing very, very well thanks), but the projects I am leaning towards knitting, while there are many of them, they all have one thing in common – they are quality projects. There are two pairs of socks on my horizon, the Irrate Squirrel Socks by VeryBusyMonkey, and the German Stockings by Cookie A. which I have literally been lusting over for about 3-4 years, but those are the smallest of the projects I want to knit. I still haven’t cast on The Dragonfly Shawl by Alpaca with a Twist, and the Snowdrop Shawl by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee is sitting frogged, in wound balls in my knitting basket. And did I mention the Comfy Cardigan from A Knitters Book of Wool? It would be darling! Plus, on top of all of that, Neil has decided that he too likes the Cambridge Cardigan from a back issue of Interweave Knits that I fell in love with when I saw it the first time, and so of course, seeing has how he only has one pair of socks, a scarf, and a drawstring bag for his snowboarding goggles, I think it’s about time that I turned my attention towards something big.

The only problem with this? I am totally a project knitter. I enjoy learning new processes too, but unlike my friend Chelsea’s mother, who is content to knit something, then rip it out and start a whole new thing, and then rip that out and start all over again, I have never enjoyed the process that much. I like to have finished things at the end, that I can you know, show people, or wear, or give away. I find myself constantly feeling driven to finish a project, just so I can share it on the blog, or post pictures of it on Ravelry. So, with a baby on the way, and my potential knitting time about to cut seriously down, is starting a large project really a wise decision? Something tells me that the whole quality-over-quantity thing is going to loose it’s charm very, very quickly.

So, I decided that instead of trying to force myself into big projects that I will proabably never have time for, I am going to try my best to only knit with quality materials, and use them on the smaller projects that I love so much. I have never worked with Lorna’s Laces, or Blue Moon Fiber Arts, or Sweet Georgia Yarns, and I really, really want to. Instead of buying a bunch of sock yarn from Knit Picks, I am planning on buying smaller shipments from other websites, ones that have unique, hand dyed yarns, and that are unique, and gorgeous. I might not be able to churn out a lot of projects after having Peanut like I’ve been able to, but at least I will feel like I’ve turned out something high quality, and worth showing off, when it does finally make it’s way off my needles.

And for those of you wondering, the leg is almost complete on the second Gravel Grid sock, and I’m coming very, very close to the end of my mother’s Christmas present as well! I’ve picked out the perfect pattern to use for Morgan’s second pair of Christmas socks, and then, I’m going to make something for myself, The German Stockings by Cookie A. are coming up for me next, as the yarn is on it’s way, and the Helix Gauntlets by Caroline Bautista are also next on my radar. And then maybe…well, maybe I should talk about my knitting fantasies another day.

