Despite my step-daughter flipping between thinking I am evil incarnate and her best friend in the world today while her father was off dirt biking in the pouring rain, I did manage to get quite a bit done, knitting wise that is. I worked 4 days in a row, and had had quite enough of being on my feet and racing around for other people, so I knew that today, I was going to do a lot of stuff that I wanted to do, and what I wanted to do was knit on my sweater.

I woke up at about 7:30am, and padded out to the living room and made myself a cup of (decaff) tea, and settled right down to my sweater, casting on the left front. By lunch time, I was finished with that front, and after apparently appeasing the child (who until then thought I was evil incarnate for turning off the tv) by preparing tomato soup for us to eat, I settled right back down and cast on the right front. I had almost completed that front when it was time to go to Mom and Dad’s house for a roast beef dinner. Only 10 rows away, my only goal for when we returned home was to finish up the knitting and three-needle bind it off onto the back, which I had already done with the left front. I now have a garment in one piece. Sleeveless and curling like crazy, yes, but a garment in one piece it still is. And all I can say, after working on straights with 100% cotton yarn is, thank the gods that the sleeves are short!

But that’s not all! I also finished the gusset and started the foot on the first of my Alpaca Dad socks, and worked at least 2-3 inches of the foot while I was over at their house. Again, he has no idea that these are for him. He hasn’t even acknowledged that I’m knitting anything. To him, it is obvious only that I am knitting a sock, and that’s all he really needs to know. I doubt he’ll even make the connection when the pair turns up inside the packaging on Christmas morning.

But wait, there’s more! (I know, I’m starting to sound like an infommercial here) I have also wound the yarn and cast on for Neil’s socks, which he is to know about (I really hate the fact that I’m knitting all these things for other people, and he doesn’t see a single thing except a quick-to-whip-off-the-needles scarf for him), and I am stealing the stitch pattern from the aforementioned badly designed socks of doom, which is only a four row repeat:

Rows 1 and 2: K2, P2 to end and Rows 3 and 4: Knit all. Simple? Yeah, I love it too. Easy to memorize, carry around, and get on and off the needles fairly quickly, I think. If I don’t have both men’s socks complete by the end of the month, or at the lastest, the first week of October, well, either work has called me in and maxed me out on hours, or I’ve gone into early labour. Please pray that neither happens. Dad’s socks again are being worked in Drops Alpaca, which is 100% alpaca yarn and soft as a baby’s bottom to work with in a nice charcoal grey, and Neil’s socks are being worked in KnitPicks Gloss in Porcini. I had envisioned Neil’s yarn for a pair of socks I was designing, but not only could I not get the design to take shape the way I wanted it to, but I also didn’t like the color of the yarn. It looked a lot more yellow on the website when I bought it, and I thought it resembled prairie grasses, but when I got it home, I was disappointed to see a dull, grey undertoned oatmeal color, totally not what I was expecting. Neil likes the color though, and since they’re named after mushrooms, and he’s the only person in this house who likes them, well, I thought it was suitable.

It’s on to one more day of work for me tomorrow, to be followed by two blissful days off, then one on, then several more off. Neil and Morgan and I get a full weekend off together next week, except for my baby shower on Sunday, and I’m hoping that the weather will be nice enough to take a walk at the local Heron Reserve park, which has a beautiful water-side path that I would love to explore. Next time I post, I hope that I will have a completed, or mostly completed sweater to show you, as well as a lot of progress on my men’s socks as well. Happy knitting!

And oh yes, if you like knitting and podcasts, check out the Never Not Knitting podcast, I’ve totally fallen in love with it!

www.nevernotknitting.com

