Okay, I’d like to start off this post by reminding people that I’m 29 weeks pregnant and about as hormonal as I can get. I rarely go to town and give a good old rant on this blog, but for some reason, I feel very compelled to do so today. I’m not naming names, I’m not pointing fingers, I’m just venting my frustrations. End of story.

A couple weeks ago, I got an email from the girl who is hosting my baby shower. Until now, things have been going off without a hitch – she found invitations with matching thank-you cards, we found a place to host the shower, we even found out we are getting help to pay for the food for the shower, which was great news to me. The invitations got sent out with plenty of time to spare, but as of yet, only 2 people from the original send-outs have RSVP’d, and 2 people that I added to the invite list after the invites were sent out have RSVP’d as well. But that’s IT.

Now, I’ve posted 2 facebook status updates, and sent out one giant email, and want to know how many responses I got out of those? One. Yeah, one. And her answer was kind of a slap in the face. “I haven’t RSVP’d because I can’t make it.”

Okay, forgive me and my hormonal self, but isn’t the purpose of an RSVP (responde sil’vous plait) to let the person know whether or not you are coming? I don’t recall a giant change in the protocol of an RSVP meaning that you CAN make it. When you RSVP, you are communicating with the person that yes, you can make it, or no, you can’t. I won’t repeat the rest of the email, because this person chose to go off on a tangent that she’s sick of hearing about needing to RSVP on Facebook, and then getting an email on top of it, and it made me really, really angry, and if I talk about that email anymore, I might say things I will regret. I chose to ignore her rude response, and simply pass along to my host that she won’t be making it. And made a mental note not to talk to her for awhile, until she comes down off her high horse.

But seriously people, I know that pretty much anyone reading this post is either not able to come, or has already sent in their response, but if you do happen to be one of those people who was invited, and you haven’t responded yet, can you please do so? Planning a shower was not really supposed to be my job, I have my lovely host for that. I really don’t enjoy chasing people down, trying to find out if they’re going to come or not. I really don’t want to be a bitch about my own shower. Isn’t it my job to just show up and enjoy? I have a lot of other things to worry about right now, and your lack of RSVP’ing should not one of them!

And if you do RSVP a yes or a no, can you please, for the sake of me not snapping, do it politely? I might go postal on the next person who tells me I’m being a pest because I haven’t gotten the answer yet.

