Last week, randomly on Facebook, the Jane Austen fan page put up a status post, and it said the following quote, which has stuck out in my mind ever since:

“Always be yourself, because those who mind don’t matter, and the people who matter don’t mind.”

I loved it, instantly. I thought it was perfect, it described for me every reason to be myself without shame, a concept I have definitely struggled with before. All this time, the people that I have been catering to, really haven’t been worth the effort, yet I haven’t concerned myself enough with the ones that do, and to be honest, they probably don’t care if my hair was blonde or brown or purple. They loved me for me.

I immediately tweeted the comment, and put it in my Facebook status a couple days later, and it’s come up in my art journaling at least twice since I read it. And then last night, while I was reading Eat Pray Love, I came upon another quote to remember.

“It is better to live your own destiny imperfectly than to live an imitation of somebody else’s life with perfection.”  The Bhagavad Gita

Another beautiful reminder to be yourself, because then at least it’s your life that you’re living, and not a copy of someone else’s. There’s nothing wrong in my opinion, with taking cues from other people, and being inspired to emulate some part of someone else, as long as it fits with you. We are products of our inspirations afterall. But at the end of the day, the core of who you are should still come out through everything.

A lot to think on, n’est pas? I love books like this, that really just make you think.

