People, only three days (and not all of them full knitting days either), and I had a finished shawl.

leavesflowers

Leaf and Flower Shawl designed by Linda Choo, knit with Enchanted Knoll Farm superwash sock yarn in “Sandy Beach” (I love when yarn colors have names), on a 4 mm needle. Started the afternoon of the 14th, finished the evening of the 17th, and blocked the morning of the 18th, and was dry by that night, but I couldn’t pick it up from my Mom’s house until today after work. Isn’t it lovely?

leavesflowers2

Turns out the lifeline wasn’t necessary. I had 29 grams of yarn to spare by the time I finished it, but I knew that I wouldn’t be able to get a full 12 row repeat and the 14 row repeat for the border out of it, it was just too big by that point. It blocked out nice and big too, with lots of room, this yarn is really stretchy. I’m fascinated by it still, tantalized, and totally in love.

And like a good girl, as soon as it was on the blocking boards drying, Mom and I pulled apart Snowdrop Shawl, and I think I’ll start working on it again, trusting the Yarn Harlot’s infinite wisdom when it comes to needle sizing this time. You’d think that after working with lace weight yarn before, that I would trust the numbers, but no. I had to question her. Serves me right, I suppose! I also cast on a pair of socks for my significant other, Neil. He is getting Gentleman’s Lozenge Socks by Nancy Bush from Knitting Vintage Socks, made out of my favorite sock yarn in the world, Rancho Solid. I love the texture, the colors, the way it knits up, how easy they are to care for, how good they feel on, everything. And who doesn’t love the price?

I’ve also started a second Christmas knitting project, but since this lovely person checks my blog, there will be no more talk of it (except to tell you I’m finished) until after Christmas when they’ve opened it. I know I am going to have a hard time keeping the secret to myself, but it will be worth it when this person sees the project, and reads the note I’m going to write about it, and why I chose it, and what it reminds me of. If I’m lucky, I’ll get tears.

Well, I could talk on and on about this mystery knitting project, but I’m going to be a good girl (again!) and go read my book (a knitting mystery by Maggie Sefton, how appropriate!) and drink tea. Night!

