I’m sure there’s a lot of knitters out there right now, struggling to get their last minute knitted Christmas presents finished, but I am not among them this year. I don’t know if it was that I was in a new house and still feel like there’s stuff to be done, or if it’s because work is all the more stressful this year, but I just did not feel the need to pile a lot more work on myself with tons of knitted gifts that could possibly not make it to the recipient in time for Christmas. It might also have something to do with the fact that I just made a bunch of stuff for people before Christmas, and didn’t want to be redundant with their gifts. Only two people will be receiving from me this year, my mom, and my friend Laura. I shall reveal Mom’s gift on Christmas, after she’s received it, but until then, her gift shall remain a secret.

That hasn’t stopped me from knitting though. In the last few days I have finished two major projects:

babyblanket

The baby blanket for the baby that doesn’t exist yet is finished, and I’ve tucked it away for that special day when there might be one.

feltedslipper2

And the felted slippers are finished too. Unlike most first-time makers, I was not fascinated with the process of turning a gargantuan slipper into one that fits just right because it did NOT fit just right. I’m not sure if it was the yarn or my washing machine, or possibly my impatience, but these slippers just would not felt down very well at all. I used Cascade 220, but I’ve been told it’s a yarn that doesn’t always take kindly to felting, and to use Patons Classic Wool instead next, which I will have to try at some point. In the meantime, Neil has new slippers, they fit him to a T.

And hey! Guess what I dug out of the bottom of my stash basket? Recognize this?

auburncamp 

That’s right! I am actually going to try to finish the Auburn Camp Shirt I started in 2008…I’ve only been working on it for close to two years now.. not a long time at all! The back is complete, and the Right Front show above is about half way done now I’d say. Only one more front piece, two sleeves (which are only elbow length!), the sewing, and the collar need to be done. I’m making a goal of completing it by the end of January, we’ll see how well I can stick to that!

I also bought the yarn for these stockings from Knitting Lingerie Style:

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1049/536755782_f1187d279b.jpg

I just need the needles (which I hope to acquire either on Christmas Day, or on Boxing Day at a yarn shop sale), and then I will be casting on! They look pretty simple, so they’ll be my mindless pattern to work on, when the sweater feels like too much. I can’t wait! I bought Lavender Cascade Fixations, I think they’re going to be gorgeous!

Everyone enjoy a very Merry Christmas, we’ll see how good the Knitting Santa is to me this year!

