The sun has been in and out the last couple of weeks, but then again, so has the snow. Just when we thought we had started to see spring (I was able to go outside in jeans and a sweater a couple of weeks ago!), the snow hit us again, which was good news for me for only one reason, my friend Josie who wanted fingerless gloves, would still have need of them. I (finally) started on them a couple days ago, and this morning, I finished them. The pattern is based off the Knit Spot Delicato Mitts glove pattern, but only in the weight of yarn, number of stitches to cast on, and the placement of the thumb gusset. The rest of the pattern I have devised myself to make a much simpler pattern.

I love my Delicato fingerless gloves, they are so cute, and I’ve gotten a lot of compliments on them, but they are not exactly idea for wearing at my work, an auto parts store. Everything is dirty, dusty, and since I do a lot of lifting, shuffling, and my hands come into contact with oils, greases, and chemicals everyday, I decided I needed a new pair specifically for work. I used a cotton-blend sock yarn for easy wearing and washing, and I love them. One day I loaned them out to one of my coworkers, and she fell in love with them too, and asked me to make her a pair as well.

Jessica’s Fingerless Gloves

Materials: 1 skein fingering weight yarn, wool blends are best for wash and wear; 1 80cm circular needle, 2mm; 3 stitch markers; scissors; darning needle; 1 12inch length of waste yarn, also fingering weight

Gauge is hard to determine. The original pattern suggests 32sts and 48 rows = 4" in stockinette with a 2.75mm needle. I’m a loose knitter though, and it takes a 2mm for me to meet gauge with fingering weight, and every now and then I’m still a bit loose.

Pattern:

Co 56 sts, divide evenly onto 3 DPNS, or onto one circular for Magic Loop (the technique I used). Join in the round and be careful not to twist stitches, work 2×2 ribbing for 1.5 inches.

1st row after rib: k12, k2tog, knit to end.

Divide stitches now as follows: DPNS, 25sts on needle 1, 10sts on needle 2, and 20sts on needle 3. Magic Loop: 25 sts on needle 1, rest on second needle, with a stitch marker dividing the sts into first a 10st section, then the 20sts. NOTE: This is for the right hand glove. Reverse the 10 and 20 sts for the left hand glove.

Continue working in stockinette until the total length of the glove measures 2.5 inches from cast on edge.

Next row: knit across needle 1, on needle 2 k4, PM (m1, k1) twice, PM, k4, knit across needle three.

Knit three rounds.

Increase row: work across needle one, on needle 2, k4, SM, M1, knit to marker, M1, SM, k4.

Repeat these last 4 rows until there are 16 thumb stitches, then knit 1 round, do one inc round, knit one round, and one more inc round. There should now be 20 thumb stitches. Knit one more round.

Next round: knit across needle 1, on needle 2, k3, inc fbf, thread darning needle with waste yarn and thread the 20 stitches onto it, inc fbf on next stitch, k3, knit to end. You can choose to take the markers out if you want if you are working Magic loop, you won’t need them anymore.

Knit three more rounds, on the third round, decrease one stitch on needle 2 (on needle three when working left hand glove) near the edge, then divide stitches evenly across the needles again, and work 2×2 rib for 1.25 inches, bind off loosely, weave in ends.

Thumb: Magic loop: the 20 stitches on the waste yarn need to be picked up. This is how I do it, I put 12 stitches on the back needle, and 8 on the front needle, then picking up my yarn, I pick up 4 stitches along the top with the front needle, giving you a total of 24 stitches. I work 2 rounds in stockinette, being careful to keep the join area nice and tight, then switch to 2×2 rib for 0.75 inches, bind off loosely. Pick up the stitches any way that you are comfortable with though. Weave in your ends, closing up any holes that are at the thumb join, and then make the second glove!

gloves

Those are Josie’s gloves in the picture. Mine recently climbed up a snowy mountain with my boyfriend though:

n594790924_1941887_6029435

They are about the only project that I’ve managed to finish recently. Life has been fairly hectic here lately, and I haven’t had a lot of time to knit, and when I have, I’ve wanted to do other things. But with everything starting to get back to normal, I plan to work on some of my UFO’s to get them out of the way. A little spring cleaning of my knitting projects shall we say? I can’t wait to get these projects finished so I can start on something new!

